Mies van der Rohe Award

European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The Architecture Foundation is on the Advisory Committee of the Mies van der Rohe Award. It is granted every two years by the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona, to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe.

In this way, the Award draws attention to the major contribution by European professionals to the development of new ideas and technologies. At the same time, it offers both individuals and public institutions an opportunity to reach a clearer understanding of the cultural role of architecture in the construction of our cities. Furthermore, the Award sets out to foster architecture in two significant ways: by stimulating greater circulation of professional architects throughout the entire European Union in response to transnational commissions and by supporting young architects as they set off on their careers.

In 2011, the award was won by David Chipperfield Architects for the Neues Museum Berlin (read more here).

In 2009, the award was won by Snohetta for the Oslo Opera House (above).

In 2007, the award was won by Mansilla + Tuñón for MUSAC - Contemporary Art Museum of Castilla y León (below).

For other partners please consult Award website at right.