European Prize for Urban Public Space 2014 Winners Announced

The winners of the 2014 European Prize for Urban Public Space have been announced:

- Renovation of the Old Port, Marseille, France by Michael Desvigne and Norman Robert Foster
- The Branded Valley, Elx, Spain by Grupe Aranea

- Islamic Cemetery, Altach, Austria by Bernardo Bader
- Opening of Rainham Marshes, London, UK by Peter Beard
- "Baana" Pedestrian and Bicycle Corridor, Helsinki, Finland by Helsinki City Council
- La Lira Theatre, Ripoll, Spain by RCA Aranda Pigem Viilalta Arquitectes SLB

The winners were selected by an international jury led by Carme Ribas, and including Architecture Foundation Director Sarah Ichioka.

The Prize is a biennial competition organised by six European institutions, including The AF, with the aim to recognise and encourage the regeneration projects and defense of public space in our cities. The award, created in 2000, celebrates its tenth edition in 2014. More information about the projects and jury here.

CONVENING INSTITUTIONS The Centre of Contemporary Culture of Barcelona (CCCB) organises this prize together with six European institutions: the Deutsches Architekturmuseum of Frankfurt (DAM); the Museum of Finnish Architecture of Helsinki (MFA); the Museum of Architecture and Design of Ljubljana (MAO); The Architecture Foundation of London (AF); La Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine of Paris (Cité) and the Architekturzentrum Wien of Vienna (AzW).

INTERNATIONAL JURY The president of the international jury for the eighth award of the Prize was Carme Ribas, representing the CCCB. The jury was comprised by Matevž Celik, director of the MAO; Sarah Ichioka, director of the AF; Juulia Kauste, director of the MFA; Francis Rambert, director of the Cité; Peter Schmal, director of the DAM; and Katharina Ritter, head of exhibitions at the AzW. David Bravo i Bordas, representing the CCCB, was the jury secretary.