Mies van der Rohe Award 2013: Finalists announced

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists who will compete for the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award

The prize, for which The Architecture Foundation is on the Advisory Committee, is granted every two years to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe.

The five finalists are:
City Hall, Ghent, Belgium
Robbrecht en Daem architecten; Marie-José Van Hee architecten

Superkilen, Copenhagen, Denmark
BIG Bjarke Ingels Group; Topotek1; Superflex

Harpa - Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland 
Batteríid architects; Henning Larsen Architects; Studio Olafur Eliasson

House for Elderly People, Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
Aires Mateus Arquitectos

Metropol Parasol, Seville, Spain
J. Mayer H.

The overall winner of the Prize, as well as the 'special mention' award for best emerging architect, will be announced in May, with an award ceremony on 6 June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

Image: Metropol Parasol, courtesy David Frank