Hanif Kara Joins New DCC London Design Review Panel

AF Trustee and Co-Founder/Director of Adams Kara Taylor (AKT II), Hanif Kara, has joined the new DCC London Design Review panel.

Announced at MIPIM on 7 March 2012, Design Council Cabe have been recruiting a network of Built Environment Experts (BEEs) from which The London Design Review panel has been drawn. The panel will offer Design Reviews to London boroughs and potential planning applicants, and will also seek to provide on-going services as well as one-off reviews.

Structural engineer Kara, who joined the AF's board of trustees in June 2010, is well known for his design-led approach to engineering, and has collaborated on many award-winning projects with architects ranging from Thomas Heatherwick to AHMM and Will Alsop. A former CABE Commissioner, Kara is also a visiting professor of Architectural Technology at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm and teaches design at GSD Harvard.

The new panel comes into effect from 1 April and will have 20 members — 15 of whom sit on DCC’s national design review. The London Design Review panel so far includes (DCC will confirm four more later this month): Robin Nicholson, Neil Deely, Paul Monaghan, Michael Coombes, Keith Bradley, Ian Sharratt, Alison Brooks, Hanif Kara, David West, Gerard Maccreanor, Alan Lebowitz, Bob Allies, Jim Eyre, Ken Shuttleworth, John Lyall and Noel Farah.

Design Review forms part of a suite of services that Design Council Cabe will be delivering to both public and private sector clients.