European Prize for Urban Public Space 2012: Winners Announced!

The winners of the European Prize for Urban Public Space 2012 have been announced following the convening of the international jury at the Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona on 19 and 20 April:

Renovation of the River Ljubljanica, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Landscaping of the Peaks of the Turó de la Rovira, Barcelona, Spain 

Exhibition Road, London, United Kingdom
Memorial to the Abolition of Slavery, Nantes, France
Annorstädes / Elsewhere / Ailleurs, Malmö, Sweden

Occupy Puerta del Sol, Madrid, Spain

The Jury, lead by architect Josep Llinàs, included Dietmar Steiner, director of the Architekturzentrum Wien (Vienna); Ole Bouman, director of the Nederlands Architectuurinstituut (Rotterdam); Sarah Ichioka, director of The Architecture Foundation (London); Francis Rambert, director of the Institut Français d’Architecture (Paris); Juulia Kauste, director of the Suomen Rakennustaiteen Museo (Helsinki) and Peter Cachola Schmal, director of the Deutsches Architekturmuseum.

The Prize is a biennial competition organised by six European institutions, including the AF, with the aim to recognise the most promising regeneration projects and encourage the defense of public space in our cities. 

For further information on the winning projects and jury, please visit:


Top image: Renovation of the River Ljubljanica, courtesy Atelier Arhitekti
Bottom image: Landscaping of the Peaks of the Turó de la Rovira, courtesy Lordes Jansana