European Prize for Urban Public Space Winners Announced

The winners of the 2010 European Prize for Urban Public Space have been announced:

- Open Air-Library, Magdeburg, Germany
- Den Norske Opera & Ballet, Oslo, Norway (view AF lecture by Snohetta)

- Urban Activators: Theater Podium & Grotekerplein, Rotterdam, Netherlands
- Paseo Marítimo de la Playa Poniente, Benidorm, Spain
- Passage 56/Espace Culturel Écologique, Paris, France (presented at AF Legacy Plus symposium)
- Casetas de Pescadores en el puerto, Cangas do Morrazo, Spain

The winners were selected by an international jury led by Rafael Moneo, and including Architecture Foundation Director Sarah Ichioka.

The Prize is a biennial competition organized by six European institutions, including the AF, with the aim to recognize and encourage the regeneration projects and defense of public space in our cities. The award, created in 2000, celebrates its sixth edition in 2010. 

More information about the projects and jury here.

Photo (c) Anja Schlamann