Mies van der Rohe Award 2009 is presented today

The Architecture Foundation is on the Advisory Committee of the Mies van der Rohe Award. It is granted every two years by the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona, to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe. The ceremony for the 2009 award took place today at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture was awarded today to Snohetta (Kjetil Traedal Thorson, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers) for the Oslo Opera House and the Emerging Architect Special Mention was given to Studio Up (Lea Pelivan, Toma Plejic).

Snohetta presented the Oslo Opera House for The Architecture Foundation at a Real Architecture lecture in November 2008. The full recording of the event can be viewed here.